Skip to content

Current News

Jul 18 17

Concert at (le) poisson rouge, NYC

by admin

Raffi Besalyan will perform a solo recital at one of New York City’s hippest venues, (le) poisson rouge on August 23 at 7 PM in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of his arrival to his new home, the United States.
The program, “Rooted and Uprooted: An Armenian-American’s Musical Journey”, will include music from Armenia, Russia and the U.S.
For more details and tickets click here.

May 2 17

Rachmaninoff with ASYO

by admin

Raffi Besalyan will make his Atlanta Symphony Hall debut performing Rachmaninoff’s 2nd Concerto with the vibrant Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra under the baton of Joseph Young. This concert will take place on Sunday, May 14, 2017 at 3 PM. For more details click here.

Apr 8 17

Faculty Tenure and Promotion

by admin

Congratulations to Dr. Raffi Besalyan, who has been tenured and promoted to the rank of Associate Professor of Music/Piano Performance at Georgia State University in Atlanta!

Mar 17 17

Recital in New York

by admin

On Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 2:30 PM, Raffi Besalyan will perform a dynamic solo program for South Huntington Public Library Recital Series in New York.

Feb 13 17

New on SoundCloud

by admin

Check out Raffi Besalyan’s SoundCloud for some beautiful and exciting live performances from New York, Japan and WPR/NPR of works by Beethoven, Chopin, Gershwin, Franck and Bach-Busoni. More coming soon!

Nov 6 16

Fall Season

by admin

It has been an exciting and intense fall season for Raffi Besalyan so far! His travels have taken him to Japan where once again he adjudicated the Osaka International Music Competition, taught master classes, performed for the Charity Concert of the competition in addition to his recital in Osaka’s Abeno Kumin Center. Other highlights include a solo recital at historic Cherry Hill Estate in North Carolina, and a solo recital and a master class for Baylor University’s prestigious Lyceum Series in Waco, Texas. On November 11, Raffi will perform a chamber music recital along with his violin colleague Christos Galilaias for Georgia State University’s International Week at Kopleff Recital Hall in Atlanta, and on November 19, Besalyan will lead a master class for the talented young pianists of the William Pu Music Academy in Alpharetta, GA.

Aug 5 16

Debut in France

by admin

Raffi Besalyan recently returned from France, where he made his highly successful recital debut at Cap Ferret International Music Festival. In addition to performing, Besalyan gave a master class and taught lessons to several gifted young pianists for the Academie Internationale.

Jun 13 16

Review of The Return from MusicWeb International

by admin

Another wonderful review of “The Return” from MusicWeb International: “Besalyan is an artist who does justice to each of these Rachmaninov works, and the unfamiliar Babajanian morsels are an appetising addition to an appealing release.”

“Besalyan is an idiomatic Rachmaninov player…”

“The lyricism of the E flat Op.23 No.6 brings out the poetic side to his playing…”

“In the C minor he nails the stormy mood of the swirling figuration from the start through to an emphatic close.”

“The evanescent whimsy of the G major is exquisitely captured, with perhaps the most alluring playing on the disc.”

“The group of four Études-Tableaux has equally successful playing, not least in the big E flat minor that Sviatoslav Richter once said he did not play as it made him feel naked. There is plenty of naked emotion in Besalyan’s passionate account.”

To read the entire review click here.

May 30 16

Cap Ferret Music Festival

by admin

Raffi Besalyan will be performing and teaching master classes at Cap Ferret International Music Festival in France from July 8-15, 2016. For more details click here.

Mar 21 16

Review of the Beethoven’s 4th Concerto

by admin

Here is an awesome review of Raffi Besalyan’s performance of Beethoven’s 4th Piano Concerto with the FVSO by James Chaudoir, for USA TODAY NETWORK-Wisconsin on

“The soloist for this performance was Raffi Besalyan, a gifted pianist who was more than capable of managing Beethoven’s beautiful, yet demanding 4th concerto.

There was a certain sense of lyricism to his playing, and his technical prowess was made known as he mastered the numerous passages filled with scales and arpeggios. It was in several of these passages where I marveled at Besalyan’s ability to clearly delineate the different voices Beethoven had layered into the music.

Also significant was Besalyan’s ability to bring out striking dynamic contrasts in the music’s lines, this was most notable in the cadenza of the first movement.

His interpretation of the stark, yet passionate, second movement was quite lovely. He handled the dialogue between soloist and orchestra skillfully and with elegance.

Beethoven’s firey finale, Rondo: Vivace, is enough to put any soloist to the test. It was in this movement where Besalyan’s technical artistry came to the fore. He played the movement with flair of ease, meeting one challenge after the next. Once again, he was at his best with his interpretation of the cadenza, crisp, coherent, and musically satisfying.

For an encore, Mr. Besalyan performed a delightfully pleasing selection, “Spring,” by the Armenian composer Komitas.”

To read the entire review click here.